My cat has the right idea.

I’m in a bit of a funk today (rainy Saturday, plans de-railed, etc.), so we’ll see if thinking about food helps.

I made this recipe last weekend for the Seahawks game with friends. It’s decadent and wonderful. And something I would never make for a group smaller than 6. Please allow me to introduce you to Pecan Pie Bread Pudding.

Initially, I was apprehensive of this recipe. The post I got it from is questionable: her photos are obviously from two different sources, and her ingredient list doesn’t match the photo of ingredients she included (half and half vs. heavy cream), so I was worried the pudding wouldn’t turn out. But, oh buddy, it did.

WP_20160117_007

Pecan Pie Bread Pudding

1 loaf day-old French bread (approx 16 oz – I think mine was closer to 19, though)
2 1/2 cups milk
1 cup half and half
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup granulated sugar
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt (I actually forgot this)
1/2 cup softened butter
1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup pecans, chopped (leave a few whole for the top!) (I used Trader Joe’s roasted salted, probably why we didn’t miss the salt I forgot)

Depending on how soft/hard your bread is, cube it and leave out overnight to stale. I did, but I don’t think it would always be necessary.

WP_20160116_004

SORRY it’s crooked!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×11 pan.

In a large bowl, mix the eggs, milk, half and half, vanilla, and sugar. Carefully add the cubed bread and stir it a little bit to make sure all the bread is nicely coated. Let this lovely little mixture sit for 10-15 minutes.

WP_20160117_004

Meanwhile, mix the butter, brown sugar, and pecans with a fork. It’ll be crumbly and wonderful.

Once the bread is nice and soaked, pour half of the mixture into the 9×11 pan. Top that with half of the brown sugar pecan mixture, then the other half of the bread. Go ahead and dump all of the liquid in with it – it’ll keep the pudding nice and moist. Top with the rest of the brown sugar pecans, then add some whole pecans on top for decoration. My pan was full – enough that I put a cookie sheet below it in the oven to catch overflow and was glad I did.

WP_20160117_005

Bake for 45-55 minutes (I did 55). It will come out golden brown and your kitchen will smell amazing. If you eat it right away, it may be a bit wiggly in the middle still – it will set as it cools. We waited until half time to eat, and it was warm and perfect. Much better than the first half of the Seahawks game.

I like just about everything I make, and I can say this is one of my favorite things I’ve ever made. I’m not even a huge pecan pie fan, and this was just scrumptious. With 7 people and bigger-than-we-should-have servings, we had about a third of the pan left, and it’s heated up well as leftovers this week. Make this recipe. You won’t regret it.

WP_20160117_007

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Hello, Fresh! | likesfoodwilltravel

Leave a Reply

